Economic Development Advisory Committee

The West Coast Council passed a resolution in March 2016 to establish an Economic Development Advisory Committee (EDAC).

This brings the West Coast a step closer to implementing further outcomes from the West Coast Community Plan 2025.

The Committee will assist Council in the development and implementation of potential projects along with other opportunities and priorities that are likely to emerge for the region.  The EDAC will discuss, research, develop, recommend and assist Council to drive forward economic development initiatives.

Council’s Economic Development, Tourism & Events Coordinator will act as the EDAC secretariat.

“Establishment of this Committee will ensure Council continues to be in a position to provide leadership and truly engage with all stakeholders – including the West Coast community, industry and the State Government,” West Coast Mayor Phil Vickers said of the decision.

Two Councillors (in addition to the Mayor and Deputy Mayor) will be nominated to sit on the EDAC, with Council to liaise with the State Government regarding appropriate representation also.

Expressions of Interest for positions on the EDAC closed in August 2016 and following an assessment process the following have been confirmed as committee members:

  • Mayor Phil Vickers
  • Deputy Mayor Shane Pitt
  • Councillor Lindsay Newman
  • West Coast Council General Manager Dirk Dowling
  • West Coast Economic Development, Tourism & Events Coordinator
  • Ex-officio State Government representative
  • Peter Walker – Vedanta/Copper Mines of Tasmania
  • Jenkins Kroon – MMG Rosebery Mine
  • Mark McDermott – West Coast tourism operator
  • Anthony Brown – West Coast Wilderness Railway

EDAC Charter(163 kb)

Christine Gray

Position Economic Development & Tourism Coordinator
Contact Details Work: 03 64714 700
Mobile: 0417015435
Email: ecodev@westcoast.tas.gov.au
11 Sticht Street
PO Box 63
Queenstown TAS 7467